Baby Boy Cupcakes

I was asked at work to make cupcakes for one of the managers starting their maternity leave. After a little bit of research I thought I’d keep it simple and make 1x vanilla and 1x chocolate cupcakes with white or blue vanilla buttercream icing.

Considering the only cutter I had was a star (and no baby themed cutters) I’m quite pleased with the decorations. But I’m really frustrated about the icing. I think my mistake was leaving the buttercream icing for about 3 hours whilst making the decorations and it just became too solid to properly ply. There might be a trick to get it back to the right consistency, but at 2am a lot of my mental capacity had gone to sleep! You can probably spot the difference between which I piped and which I applied with a palette knife. Icing remains my nemesis!

Leave a Reply

