Salted Caramel & Pecan Monkey Bread

This was a recipe I had saved on my Pinterest board for a while and I knew many people in my office liked salted caramel. So when the next colleague to have a birthday liked both salted caramel and bread it seemed like the good opportunity to trial it.

Not being well practiced in bread making, this is a recipe that I didn’t make to it’s full potential and either requires enough bread knowledge to know the potential sticking points or needs to be practiced multiple times.

I haven’t built up the knowledge and muscle memory for how much kneading the dough should have and the optimum place in my flat to let the mixture prove. It was constructed by rolling the dough balls in a cinnamon sugar and then between layers pour the salted caramel. However I think this was lost, especially when you look at the cross section. It advised to save 1/2 of the sauce for the end, but actually I think I probably could have used more sauce between the layers and have 1/3 or 1/4 for the end. The pooling around the edges of the bundt tin evidences this. Probably the biggest mistake was leaving it to cool in the tin! I can’t remember when I finished the bake (apart from probably the wrong size of midnight) so needed to go bed for work the next day. But really I should have been patient and let it cool enough to turn out, because when it came to serving the bread would not leave the tin! Made it very awkward to serve.

I definitely need to re-do this recipe for redemption.

Find the recipe here

 

Leave a comment